Jerome Lagarrigue Paints Brooklyn Locals in “Red Hook Sonata”

Jerome Lagarrigue has depicted many subjects throughout his career- boxers and supermodels to his multi-racial Brooklyn neighbors- but his focus has always been simply, "painting people". The French born artist traces his interest in portraiture to art school, where it was difficult to find a model and this encouraged him to study his own face. These introspective exercises on expression, color, and psyche continue to inform his oil paintings. He also practiced graffiti, influencing his manner of working in large scale with roughly defined areas.

Good News of the Day: Army of 1,000 Ducks Used as Brilliant Pesticide Alternative


South Africa’s Vergenoegd vineyard in Stellenbosch keeps a flock of over 1,000 Indian Runner ducks to help combat tiny white dune snails that would otherwise destroy the budding vines. The ducks’ upright and slender posture allow them to navigate the rows of plants, clearing up to a hectare a day.

While the cost of keeping all these ducks is significantly higher than standard pesticides, the duck army is so effective that the vineyard uses minimal chemicals and is recognized for its sustainability. See more images by London-born, Cape Town-based photographer Mike Hutchings and a video of the ducks working below!

What went down at Dior’s Blenheim Palace show

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 18.50.15

There are few names in fashion as culturally significant as Christian Dior. The French designer founded his storied maison back in 1946, quickly transforming his name into an empire synonymous with femininity and opulence. It seems fitting to reference Dior's early years as today's 2017 Cruise collection marked a return for the house to Blenheim Palace, marking the third collection shown in the baroque Oxfordshire manor.

But unlike the first designed…

read more »

祝福 blessing 2016 acr

祝福 blessing 2016 acrylic on canvas H162×W162㎝ Kazuhiro Hori グループ展のお知らせ 5月30日(月)〜6月4日(土)  シロタ画廊 銀座7-10-8 最終日のみ在廊致します。

A Girl Walks Home Al

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night on Behance



A Glimpse into Onbashira, the Dangerous Japanese Log Moving Festival

If riding a giant log down a steep mountain sounds like an ideal way to spend a quiet spring afternoon, the Onbashira Festival is for you. Held every 6 years in Nagano, Japan, the festival involves moving enormous logs over difficult terrain completely by hand with the help of thickly braided ropes and an occasional assist from gravity as the logs barrel down hills. The purpose is to symbolically renew a nearby shrine where each log is eventually placed to support the foundation of several shrine buildings. The event has reportedly continued uninterrupted for 1,200 years.

Onbashira is split into into two parts, Yamadashi and Satobiki, taking place in April and May respectively. Yamadashi involves cutting down and transporting the logs, each of which can weigh up to 10 tons. The logs are harnessed by ropes and pulled up to the tops of mountains by teams of men and then ridden down the other side. The event is exceedingly dangerous and comparable to the Running of the Bulls in Pamplona, where a brush with peril is seen as a form of honor. The second part, Satobiki, is a ceremonial raising event where participants again ride atop the logs and sing as each is hoisted into the air. Participants of both events are frequently injured and sometimes killed, but despite the obvious risks the tone of Onbashira is quite festive with lots of singing, music, and colorful costumes.

Filmmakers from Oh! Matsuri were at the festival this year and edited this beautiful glimpse into the obscure tradition.







Venus X and Alex Mugler show you the five elements of vogue


Since its launch in New York City’s Lower East Side in 2009, Venus X’s GHE20G0TH1K party has been at the forefront of club music and style. Started alongside Hood by Air’s Shayne Oliver, the party has represented global dance styles (including hip hop, R&B, ballroom, Jersey club, juke, kuduro, dembow and beyond), incubated various DJ, producer, vocal, and design talents, and…

read more »